A season in the kitchen..

When it comes to cooking, I’m not an expert.

I can handle simple dishes (e.g: spaghetti bolognese, basic chinese stir-fies, simple salads)… but complicated dishes are a no-no.

The love for food runs in my husband’s family.. Blueberry loves to cook, my Father-in-law makes good steaks, and my late Mother-in-law was a culinary instructor… As compared to them, my cooking skills are basic.. (much to my Father-in-law’s disappointment).

Not long ago, my Father-in-law gently suggested that I should help with dinner preparation. Since then, I’ve been actively helping in the kitchen.

☁☁☁☁☁☁☁☁

One of the things I enjoy about cooking is.. the chance to see fresh ingredients. The fresh smell, colors and textures excite my senses.. I couldn’t help to snap some pictures.

Tonight, we are having petai and chinese spinach for dinner!

23022016 cookingseason01

Petai (stink beans) has a pungent smell to it.. They are delicious, when cooked with sambal and prawns.

23022016 cookingseason03

Green leafy vegetable

23022016 cookingseason02

Look at the beautiful spinach leaves! What a lovely shade of green.

I’m glad for this season in the kitchen.

It has given me a new level of appreciation towards fresh ingredients, and a chance to practice my cooking skills.

May it be pan-fry, stir-fry, steaming, or boiling- I’m fine to try. But, oh please, don’t ask me to fry seafood or deep-fry- it’s too scary. I would rather run for my life. 😛

8 thoughts on “A season in the kitchen..

      1. lincahceria5

        Talking about cooking tutorial on YouTube, I remember something else: poached egg. I haven’t successfully made a poached egg. Can you make it?
        However, I think you’re right that YouTube can be a lifesaver. I learn to make pancake from YouTube.
        I agree with that Chinese takeaway 😉

      2. Raspberry Post author

        ooo, yummy pancakes! I think I should go see the pancakes video soon.. sadly, I’ve never dared poach an egg…always messed up my fried eggs (can you believe it?). maybe someday, when I’ve gather enough courage. 😀

  1. smomingingham

    We made a resolution to add more fruit and vegetables in our family s diet. One can really see the changing of the seasons in the produce one can buy. I am not a good cook too but having fresh ingredients makes it easy to cook simply.

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Seeing the seasonal produce feels wonderful, doesn’t it? 🙂
      I love difference fresh ingredients makes to our food.. feels wholesome to eat too.
      Wishing you the best for your resolution!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

