Lemang for lunch..

I was craving for lemang for several months.

Lemang is glutinous rice cooked in a hollow bamboo lined with banana leaves. Although you can find lemang in Singapore, they don’t taste the same as the ones found in Malaysia.

Two days ago, an ex-colleague bought some from Malaysia and passed a portion to me. I was beyond happy to receive them for lunch.

With a cleaver, we split the bamboo into half, revealing the contents.. Blueberry cut it into bite size pieces.

lemang06

Pieces of lemang..

An army of small circular pieces! How adorable they looked. 🙂

I plated my lunch.. and snapped some shots quickly, before tucking in.

lemang01

We ate our lemang with mutton rendang. It was delicious!

lemang02

The nice chewy texture.. delicate coconut flavor.. fragrant smell from the bamboo. This is simplicity at this best!

I also took some pictures of the bamboo casing (for memories sake).. My little detective came along and decided to investigate the “foreign item”.

It was a wonderful lunch.. With this wonderful start to the new year, I hope 2016 will be a good year for me and my family.

To all the readers around the world, Happy 2016! May this year be filled with an abundance of joy, love and fulfillment. ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

