A visit to Tiong Bahru Air Raid Shelter- Part 2

I managed to escaped from the dungeon and was lucky not to meet the resident who stayed there.

Once outside, there was a great sense of relief.

It was bright and sunny, as compared the dark chambers of the Air Raid Shelter.

The Air Raid Shelter had public housing above. These housing was the earlier flats built by the government. Although I've never stayed in one before, seeing them let me reminisce my childhood. (There were similar flats near my primary school).

The Air Raid Shelter had public housing above.
These housing was the earlier flats built by the government.
Although I’ve never stayed in one before, seeing them let me reminisce my childhood. (There were similar flats near my primary school).

A line of exhibits along the corridor

A line of exhibits along the corridor

No dumping!

No dumping!

Visiting this place gives me chills.

I cannot imagine myself going through wartime.. I’ve been blessed with peacetime in my life and it makes it harder to understand how our ancestors survived the Japan Occupation from 1942 to 1945.

I hope it doesn’t happen, heaven forbid.

Leave a Reply

