Journey through Hell..

Feet don't fail me now, bring me to the finish line..

Feet don’t fail me now, bring me to the finish line..

Ps: This is not one of those uplifting posts.. If you’re not in the mood for sad stories, please don’t go ahead.

Last year was the worst year of my life.

My year started with me being jobless.. It took me 3 months before I could secure a job.

During the 3 months, things were not well with my mother. I had a big fight with her, because of my cat (I had no choice to adopted my cat early, due to a pressing issue.. shan’t go into that today).. My mother hated cats and would do anything to get rid of it.

My in-laws weren’t pleased with me being unemployed.

When one is out of job, people tend to assume the non-working person has nothing to do all day. I naturally became the “person-of-choice” to bring my mother-in-law for all her medical appointments. Though I was glad to help, it bothered me alittle when I was expected to accommodate to my mother-in-law’s schedule.

Despite the multiple doctors appointments, her condition worsen.. the frequencies of the clinic visits increased, so did the hospitalizations too. In mid June, she passed away in the comfort of her home.

Everyone was deeply saddened. My father-in-law was the most devastated by my mother-in-law’s passing.. Worried for his wellbeing, Blueberry and I moved in with my father-in-law.

Around the same time, I left my job.. The place we now live is far from my workplace; commuting to work would take 2.5 hours.

We adapted well to the new environment.. It was a joy staying with my father-in-law. Just as I thought life was starting to improve, my beloved family pet was diagnosed with cancer- oral melanoma.

Several times in a week, I traveled back and forth to visit Doggie. Despite all the efforts my family and I had put in, Doggie deteriorated quickly. He passed at the end of Nov.. 7 weeks, after his first diagnosis.

There was a constant deep sadness in me, throughout my journey in 2014..

After my mother-in-law and Doggie passed, pieces of me died. I’m still trying to recover from the events.. the sight of hospital wards, vet clinics and hospitals supplies makes me shudder.

Although the past is over, I still feel a lingering sense of melancholy..

5 thoughts on “Journey through Hell..

  1. lifelessons

    Have you found another job? I know it may be irritating to hear this now, but believe me, I am an expert at loss (as we all come to be in time) and I’ve found that every loss carries with it a potential for a new gain. You just have to look for it. Perhaps you’ve already discovered this for yourself, as you suggest when you say it is a joy living with your father-in-law.

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Hello Judy,
      Thanks for being concern.. I’m now working with my Hubby.
      I’m just exhausted.. I will eventually pick myself up, slowly but assuredly. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

