One of the things we gave her..

My late Mother-in-law loved wearing jewellery.

While she was still around, Blueberry and I gave her a ring for her birthday.

Green onxy set on a handcrafted ring..  This is part of the birthstone series from Choo Yilin, a local jewelry designer.

Green onxy set on a handcrafted ring..
This is part of the birthstone series from Choo Yilin, a local jewelry designer.

It was the best we could afford back then.. a gold-plated ring, which costed $240. The band is malleable, which allows the wearer to mould the ring to fit better.

It was the best we could afford back then.. a gold-plated ring, which costed $240.
The band is malleable, which allows the wearer to mould the ring to fit better.

The band of the ring fashioned like a vine.. Can you see the patterns of small leaves?

The band of the ring fashioned like a vine.. Can you see the patterns of small leaves?

She was a peranakan and loved intricate details.. most importantly, she loved being pampered with presents. 😉

The ring is under my possession now.. I wondering if I should start wearing it on special occasions. It would be nice if I can wear something that belongs to her.. But the thought of the ring weathering fiction or scratches make me shudder.

To wear or not to wear?

Maybe, it’s best to keep it safe in my jewellery box.. some memories are too precious to lose.

6 thoughts on “One of the things we gave her..

    1. Raspberry Post author

      Hi Janet,

      I really love to do that.. but I’m quite clumsy myself.

      Cuts and bruises find their way onto my hands or knees. It’s a mystery to me- how I sustain them.
      On an occasion, an embed diamond (on old my wedding band) fell out, because I accidently dropped the ring in the shower. Thankfully, I managed to find the diamond.. it freaked me out ever since. :p

      Ops, I digressed. Back to my mother-in-law’s ring.. It’s one of the few items I have from her.
      Can’t bear to see it scratched or damaged. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

