My First Encounter with Plum Blossoms

As I write this, cherry blossoms are blooming throughout Japan.

I always wanted to visit Japan to celebrate hanami(cherry blossoms viewing), but I doubt I would be able to make it before the season is over.

It saddens me to wait for another year.. but I have to keep believing that one day(preferably next year, please!), I will get to celebrate hanami in Japan.

Good things are worth the wait, right? 🙂

☂ ☂ ☂ ☂ ☂ ☂ ☂ ☂ ☂

Even though I have never seen cherry blossoms, I’m thankful for the chance to see plum blossoms in Beijing.

It was an accidental discovery.

On that fateful day, Blueberry and I had spent the afternoon exploring the 798 Art Zone. The sun started to set and it was time for us to find our way back.

The area we were in was all fenced up. Tired from the walking, we decided to take a shortcut to get to the main road quickly.. There was a hole in the fence and we “escaped” through that.

As we were trying to hail a cab, Blueberry saw something..

He got very excited and insisted we walk further. At first, I didn’t understand what was happening.. until I saw a pink tree.

There, standing in the soft glow of the setting sun, was a plum blossom tree.

The beautiful blossoms were absolutely breathtaking! I felt so happy and surreal at the same time.

I wasn’t sure how long I stood there admiring the flowers.. but I was sure my legs didn’t feel fatigue anymore.

Thank you, Blueberry. I’m glad you saw this special tree.. and am glad we shared this moment together. 🙂

(Ps: I mentioned briefly about my plum blossoms encounter (in another post) in late January, but never went into the details.. this post is for my cherished memory trove. 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “My First Encounter with Plum Blossoms

Leave a Reply

