Happy Birthday, Raspberry

Every year around early Feb, I would get a little nervous… hoping and praying nothing terrible- like catastrophic events or fights with my loved ones would spoil my birthday.

The feeling of loneliness creeps in during this period too.. the thought that nobody wants to celebrate with me starts to haunt.

(I wonder if anyone feels the same way too).

Finally, that dreaded day arrived.

I woke up in the morning feeling awful… Even though I wished I could sleep until the next morning, I decided be brave and go about the day.

Birthday Lunch at Crystal Jade. Dan dan lamian (Dandan noodles) with xiao long bao (steamed pork buns).

Birthday Lunch at Crystal Jade.
Dan dan lamian (Dandan noodles) with xiao long bao (steamed pork buns).

After lunch, I went to Sunday Folks. What a pretty water fountain they have here.

After lunch, I went to Sunday Folks.
What a pretty water fountain they have here.

Ice-cream for the birthday girl.

Ice-cream for the birthday girl.

I went for a pedicure in the afternoon. When I return home, I found two hard-boiled eggs. My father-in-law asked the helper to prepare them for me. It's a birthday tradition in Blueberry's household.  Oh my, I feel so touched and loved. :)

I went for a pedicure in the afternoon.
When I return home, I found two hard-boiled eggs. My father-in-law asked the helper to prepare them for me.
It’s a birthday tradition in Blueberry’s household.
Oh my, I feel so touched and loved. 🙂

Later in the evening, Blueberry bought the family out to celebrate my birthday.

Later in the evening, Blueberry bought the family out to celebrate my birthday.

What's for dinner? A 20 inch pizza! This is my first time having such a big pizza.. Woah!

What’s for dinner?
A 20 inch pizza!
This is my first time having such a big pizza.. Woah!

Blueberry also surprised me with a black forest cake.. with something special added on the cake.  A Hello Kitty cake! It was bought separately, the staff helped to arrange it on the birthday cake.  Thank you, Blueberry. I loved it! :D

Blueberry also surprised me with a black forest cake.. with something special added on the cake.
A Hello Kitty cake! It was bought separately, the staff helped to arrange it on the birthday cake.
Thank you, Blueberry. I loved it! 😀

It wasn't such a bad day afterall.

It wasn’t such a bad day after all.

Despite the rocky start, the day ended by celebrating with Blueberry and my loved ones.

It was a meaningful day.. the best I could ask for.

Another year older, but none the wiser.. The more I learn, the less I know. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Raspberry

  1. Pingback: The Daily Prompt #8: Cut Off | Laissez Faire

  2. loisajay

    Happy very belated Birthday! I love the photo of you with your cake–it looks like you have a special birthday hat on, complete with a candle. Very special, indeed!

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Thank you so much! 🙂
      Oh, I went back to see the picture.. and got what you meant.. Lol! *winks* Maybe it’s a special birthday halo.

      Reply
    2. Raspberry Post author

      I apologise for the series of messages earlier on.. was feeling under the weather and I misread and kept typing the wrong stuff.. Sorry for such a boo-boo.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

