Take the path between the Pong Pong trees…

Pong Pong Tree Taken from the internet.

Pong Pong Tree
Taken from the internet.

A stranger knocks on your door, asking for directions from your home to the closest gas station (or café, or library. Your pick!). Instead of the fastest and shortest route, give him/her the one involving the most fun detours.

Whenever Blueberry and I go out, there would be people approaching us for directions.

We often wonder why they gravitate towards us.

Do we look like walking street directories? Or do we look extra approachable?

*scratches head*

I still unsure why.. It looks like they are starting to find their way here… This sounds like the zombie apocalypse. Oh no!!

Maybe we should fortify the house.

He asked for directions to the nearest Ramen shop.

“So you cross the road, take the path in between the Pong Pong trees, then..” I rattled off.

“Huh? Pong pong trees?” he looked at me blankly.

Although the shop is 10 minutes walk from home, the route involves several shortcuts.. thus making it harder for me to explain.. and confusing for the stranger to understand.

Quickly, I don my street clothes walked him to Sanpoutei Ramen.. It was nice to able to show him my neighborhood.

I felt glad to be able to help someone today.. and he was happy to learn about the Pong Pong trees.

The End

For Blueberry: If this happens, we should consider hiring bodyguards or fortifying our house.

4 thoughts on “Take the path between the Pong Pong trees…

  1. Carter Vail

    I really enjoyed your story and have never heard of pong pong trees. I have learned something new today, thank you! Have a wonderful day!

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Hi Loupmojo!
      Yes, Pong Pong tree is what the locals call it.. (I’m unsure of its scientific name).. unfortunately, the fruits are poisonous.. I’ve heard from the elders that its fruit was used as a bait to catch rats.. (not sure how true it is).
      We are lucky to have Sanpoutei (a franchise from Niigata) here.. It’s run by Japanese and frequent by Japanese. If only I could bring you there! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

