Soup Recipes I wished I had..

I’ve always been clueless about traditional chinese medicine.. and I never believed in Yin and Yang, until the recent years.

My mother was equally clueless too. Although my grandma knew traditional chinese medicine, she didn’t have a chance to learn that from her mother.. At a young age, she had to leave home to work for extra income.

Even though she didn’t knew much about brewing soups, she would brew soups for me and my sisters.. at least it something than nothing at all. Well, I guess all mothers want the best for their children.

They were delicious, but somehow I felt uncomfortable from the soups.. not sick, I felt “heaty” (most likely there was imbalance in yin and yang).

When I started working, I stopped taking herbal soups.. feeling sick affected my concentration at work.

Worklife was stressful-the inconsistent meal times, the irregular sleep cycles, the high workload… all these factors started taking a toll on my health. I was falling sick quite frequently.. and my menstrual cycles were irregular too.

Then I met Blueberry’s mother.

She didn’t like her kids to fall sick.. so she always said to me, “Aiyo! Why you fall sick again har?!?”

.. fast forward the story..

Over the years of courtship and marriage, my mother-in-law fed me with countless herbal soups for me. There soups radically changed my health.. I don’t feel as tired as I used to and I don’t fall sick as frequent as before.. Such amazing soups! Thanks Mom!

She was knowledgeable inย traditional chinese medicine.. unfortunately, she passed on before we had a chance to learn the recipes from her. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

After her passing, I visited several bookstores to find a book on herbal soups.. but they were written in mandarin. It took all the energy I had to understand the recipes with my poor mandarin..

I thought all was lost until… I saw Ms Wu JiLin’s book.. Miraculous Soups!

Traditional Chinese soups recipes in here!

Traditional Chinese soups recipes in here!

I was so overjoyed!!

The recipes were written in dual languages english (yay!) and mandarin… Explanation of different ingredients used (e.g: which type of foods are heaty or cooling) are clear and detailed.. and best of all, the recipes are categorized into selection for women, children, pregnancy, well-being.. etc!

While reading the explanation on ingredients, it felt as though Mom was alive again. I could hear her voice speaking to me.. imparting valuable knowledge to me.. like how it used to be like. God, how much I missed her.

IMG_6909 Blueberry and I bought a copy of the book.

ย  This book will be one of the treasured books I own.. ๐Ÿ™‚

If I could, I would like to write a letter to thank the author.. I would tell her all the things I shared earlier.. and how much my family and I will benefit from it.
Soups, anyone?

8 thoughts on “Soup Recipes I wished I had..

  1. timelesslady

    This was a perfect post for the Daily Prompt. My grandmothers were great cooks. One always cooked with health in mind, the other was southern cook and, oh my, she cooked delicious amazing food that was probably not that healthy. Both of them lived into their 90’s. The book you show looks full of good recipes. I think soup is one of the healthiest meals a person can eat. At times, when I cook up a big pot of chicken broth, I almost feel healthier just smelling the steam. ๐Ÿ™‚ Once again terrific post.

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Thanks Timelesslady. ๐Ÿ™‚
      you are so lucky, nothing can compare to the wholesome meals made by grandmothers/mothers.. after the meal, one can never leave the table without feeling more loved. ๐Ÿ™‚
      It is all their cooking and love that left such a legacy.. now, i can find some of that in these soups. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for popping by.

      Reply
  2. Jen

    Ok I’m totally going to find that book. Thank you for sharing! I used to go to school for Chinese Medicine… this reminds of that time. Sorry to hear of your loss as well, I certainly know how hard that is. โค

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      you are welcome! Hope you’ll get your hands on it.. enjoy readig and cooking from the recipes. Its definately a keeper!
      Thank you,Jen.. as we continue with our daily lives, she will always live in our hearts. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for popping by!

      Reply
  3. S

    I have been trying to buy this book for months but couldn’t find it anywhere, not even amazon (I could only find Chinese version online). Could you share with us where you managed to get the bilingual version please?

    Reply
  4. Raspberry Post author

    Hi S,
    I bought the book at a local bookstore in Singapore (Popular, Clementi branch).. I went to the online store to find the book, but was informed their online shopping services are closed for upgrading (until 15th Sep) at the moment.
    Here’s the website.. you might want to checkout the bookstore: https://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/index.jsp

    I tried searching for it online.. unfortunately, the search wasn’t very fruitful.

    1) Brown Cookie- http://browncookie.com/products/miraculous-soups-cookbook
    It’s sold out at the moment.. but they do have a notification service when the supply is available.

    2) 1)Times Bookstore- http://www.timesbookstores.com.sg/
    Search by the ISBN no: 9789674141721.
    There are two editions.. the one I bought has bonus recipes, the title is- Miraculous Soups- Bonus edition. Times deliver within Singapore, but I’m not sure if they can workout overseas delivery..

    Sorry, it’s not much of a help.. I hope you’ll succeed in finding the book.
    Update me the outcome of the search! Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

