What do you want to be, when you grow up?

When I was 8 years old.. I wanted to be a painter.

How nice it would be if I could paint along the streets in Paris.. and travel the world.

My parents weren’t excited when they heard that.

They discouraged me from pursuing my dreams..

“Being a painter wouldn’t be able to pay for the bills.. unless you got really lucky,” they said.

Since my parents didn’t support my painter dream, I decided to choose another dream.

I scored well in science.. so it was natural for me to want to be a scientist.

Fast forward the years.. I’m now 31 years old.

Although I’m working in the research industry, I’m nowhere near being a scientist.

I’ve tried, but it didn’t come to pass.

Despite not being able to achieve my dream, I’m still happy.

There are no regrets, because I’ve tried.


Time shows you many things in life..

In the process of growing up, we learn and understand ourselves better.

dreamsWould I still dare to dream a new dream?

Yes, of course.. In fact, I have a dream in my heart. 🙂

One thought on “What do you want to be, when you grow up?

  1. Pingback: Older, and dafter too! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

