My Neighbors.. My Neighborhood

In Singapore, most of the population stay in flats…

Instead of having fences in-front of the houses… each home has a door with grilles.

Image

Guess which unit is my parent’s place?

Image

Each house is connected by a common corridor..

The corridor was a happy place.

When I was a kid, this was one of the places I played with my sisters and cousins…

Here, I learned how to ride a bike, grew my first morning-glory and played with fire..

(Playing with fire along the corridor was the best choice, cos my parents and Grandma were in the house and they were always watching.. Heehee.)

I loved playing with fire…  and often wondered why Singaporeans don’t do bonfires….. so one day, I decided to create a bonfire for myself by setting an empty flowerpot on flames… Haa.

It was one of my best days as a kid. 🙂

neighbours3

This is how my neighborhood looked like.. Our homes are pretty small.

If I stand along the corridor in the evening… I would be able to hear what TV programs other families are watching… It can’t be helped, because our homes are so close to one another.

And yes, you would be able to guess which program is the hot favorite in this community!!

neighbours4

Drying our clothes… a unique feature of living in Singapore. 🙂

Here’s an interesting fact on Singaporean who live in flats….

Most of us do not own a dryer!

How do we dry our clothes then?

After washing our clothes, we would hang them on bamboo sticks to dry.. if the weather permits, we would hang the bamboo (loaded with clothes) out to dry.

What a nice feeling to see your clothes drying in the sun. 🙂

This post is inspired by The Daily Prompt: Good Fences?

7 thoughts on “My Neighbors.. My Neighborhood

  1. Pingback: blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan

  2. litadoolan

    I enjoyed this visit to your home. You are lucky here in UK it is taking us a whole day to dry our washing. It hasn’t stopped raining since Christmas (almost)! Lovely post.

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Hi Litadoolan,
      We just had one of the longest dry spells (more than 20 days) here.. the heat was unbearable! Wish we could have some of the rain in UK. 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: of good neighbors | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

