The reflection

When I look in the mirror I see two people…

The first.

A pleasant-looking female… born with 2 eyes, 1 nose, 1 mouth.. no defects.

Fair skin without blemishes.

I  thought in my heart, “God has been kind to her”..

As I admire the reflection, someone cautiously emerges from the shadows..

She has been there all the time.. silently lurking in the shallows..

The second.

She has seen tough times.. some were the darkest moments of her life.

When I see her, I see a failure… a mistake..

A deep sense of shame filled my heart.. Immediately, I turned away from her.

Why is my pulse racing?

I found myself panting, but I wasn’t breathless.

Slowly, I dug up my courage to look into her eyes..

“Failure is not final..” I said to her.

She needs encouragement too.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Only when we’re brave enough  to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.

No one is perfect and everyone makes mistakes… and will continue to make them.

 We may avoid, run away or ignore those feelings of shame… but until we are brave enough to face it and embrace it, then can we be at peace with ourselves.

Failure is not final.

This post is a post from The Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

18 thoughts on “The reflection

  1. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | Tommia's Tablet

  2. Pingback: Through the eyes of others… | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  5. ivyon

    “We may avoid, run away or ignore those feelings of shame… but until we are brave enough to face it and embrace it, then can we be at peace with ourselves.”

    I agree 100% It doesn’t have to be shame, any feeling we are trying to avoid.

    Reply
    1. Raspberry Post author

      Hi IVyon,
      That’s true! You’ve a point.
      Recently, the topic of shame has been on my mind.. think it’s because of this book named, “Daring Greatly”.
      Guess that’s the reason I wrote about shame. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself

  7. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana's Web

  8. Pingback: The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Funhouse! | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...

  12. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  13. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  14. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  15. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

